Chevron 2017 Poster Winners

The 17th Annual Chevron Poster Contest was held at this year's Hawaii State Science and Engineering fair.  There were about a 100 posters that were entered in the contest with this year's theme:  Plant Science.  Congratulations to all of the participants for their wonderful and creative artwork!  This year's winners are: 

1st Place - SR                                   2nd Place - SR                                  3rd Place - SR

           Anne Nakamoto                                                                  Gavlinn Padayhag-Himalaya                                                              Elizabeth Costa
Grade 11, Waiakea High School                                        Grade 11, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama                         Grade 12, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama


1st Place - JR                                   2nd Place - JR                                  3rd Place - JR

                Summer Royal                                                                           Joshua Abuan                                                                             Kathy Owen                                     Grade 8, Stevenson Middle School                                         Grade 7, Kapolei Middle School                                           Grade 8, Washington Middle School


2017 Chevron Honorable Mentions

SR and JR Honorable Mentions: (Top Left) Lucia Mumma, Grade 10, Mililani High School; (2) Tyler Mejia, Grade 11, Kamehameha School Kapalama; (3) Angelica Lapena, Grade 7, Kalakaua Intermediate School; (4) Diana Reis, Grade 8, Kapolei Middle School; (5) Fanny Liu, Grade 7, Stevenson Middle School; (6) Jared Dela Cruz, Grade 7, Kalakaua Intermediate School; (7) Shantisha Ori, Grade 8, Kalakaua Intermediate.

About the Chevron Poster Contest

The Annual Chevron Poster Contest celebrates its 15th year and has become a State Science Fair tradition.  Each Science Fair season, students from grades 6-12 may submit a poster with the selected theme.  Students do not need to be science fair participants to enter.   A panel of professional judges from graphic design, media and art school faculty come together to select the Top 6, who are awarded cash prizes.  The winning poster is featured on Science Fair program the following year. 

Last Year's Winners

1st Place: Natalie Kwon, Hawaii Baptist Academy;  2nd Place: Karina Bhattacharya, Baldwin High School;  3rd Place: Summer Muramoto, McKinley High School                      Honorable Mention:  Luke Ginoza, Niu Valley Middle School; Summer Royal, Stevenson Middle School; Caitlin Tyananes, Kapolei Middle School